Third month anniversary as a Fresh meat!

Posted on May 18, 2012

0


Hello reader!

I know is been a bit close if not over a month since I made a new post in here. I am still a fresh meat in the Killer Dolls. No big improvements aside that it was not until recently I learned about the derby position by the aid of a backup jammer. I admit there are things that had made me a bit disappointing in the team. I been seeing the lack of communication within the team that is has been shown in the bouts and in the practice.

Not to mention even the communication to the fresh meat from my part in getting their info from where the practice should be, where are we going, to the feeling of being welcome leaves me a bitter taste in the mouth. Is sad! Although I have met some great people in there but the rest of the team including the coach and the captain leaves so much to say. Which made me well go to Maquiaveli-k and tell her about my feelings which made her to tell me the team’s vision and encourage me to feel like I am one of them.

“We are not going to let other visions affect us. We have our own vision. We are empowering, professional and intelligent women. We are not a team, we are a family. We will not leave any of our family members behind. If one of us is stuck behind the one who is in front will help her through!!!”Ok I after a late discussion and rant with Maquiaveli-k when I told her well at first I felt that I belong to this team and it was mine then those feelings sort of started to drift as in their are not my team and why should I considered them my teammates if I am just a freshmeat and they do not see me as such. Then Maquiaveli-k told me Oe you are part of us, we are your sisters in derby, and this is your team,you are a Killer Doll- freshmeat still not a Killer Doll( insert your position in here).
The picture is courtesy of Tina Rican.

“We are not going to let other visions affect us. We have our own vision. We are empowering, professional and intelligent women. We are not a team, we are a family. We will not leave any of our family members behind. If one of us is stuck behind the one who is in front will help her through!!!” Killer Dolls ‘ vision

Aside from that I recently got my first experience as NSO. It was awesome and has me seriously thinking if I should ditch my probabilities as a Killer Doll and focus in becoming their referee, I admit they seriously need some! I will reserve the comments of why but there are based on somethings that I saw during my experience as a score taker in the last bout of the Killer Dolls vs Latin Bombshell.

In addition to that a week ago I finally defended my thesis!!! In the midst of the works from the HEEND and my university’s campus being in strike I managed to defend it last Thursday May 11, 2012. I was with a heavy sore throat, my voice was breaking and several things were going south  during that day before the defense. I was not finding an interfocus and I was not having any luck in reaching two of my members of my committee. Luckily I did communicate with them on time, the thesis director was acting before the presentation as a jerk. Then by the end he was acting all cool with me. I was like seriously, my image  about your Mr. Thesis Director will not change that quickly. I am still in shock on how he engage in a heated discussion with the other members of my commitee in front of my mother, best friend and the director of CAUCE. A word of advise to all thesis director: remember to be a mentor and not a jerk that expects your student to know everything, even though we are adults and we are about to initiate or are in the process of a research we still need guidance. Which is something that I did not get from my thesis director.  In the end, at least mom can finally say she saw me defend the “monster”.

Posted in: Uncategorized